Back to Top

VIDEO: Sanga bags three at ICC Cricket Awards...

VIDEO: Sanga bags three at ICC Cricket Awards...

September 16, 2012  

Bookmark and Share
Kumar Sangakkara was named the Cricketer of the Year-2012, ICC Test Cricketer of the Year and the LG People’s Choice Award at the ICC Cricket awards held yesterday (September 15). Kumar Dharmasena also picked up the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year. (Pics by Sanjeewa Lasantha)

Virat Kohli has been been named ICC ODI Player of the year for a brilliant year. Kohli was part of India’s World Cup winning team and is now an integral part of the team set-up.

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year:Sunil Narine (West Indies): Up-and-coming West Indies bowler Sunil Narine has been named as the Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2012 at the LG ICC Awards in Colombo.

The 24-year-old from Trinidad, follows in the footsteps of last year’s winner and fellow West Indies bowler, Devendra Bishoo, in claiming the award. The off-spinner played in three Tests for the West Indies claiming 12 wickets at an average 31.50, while in the 15 ODIs he played in he claimed 28 wickets at an average of 18.82. 

Narine was the top choice of the 32-person voting academy, coming out ahead of Sri Lanka’s Dinesh Chandimal, Doug Bracewell of New Zealand and Australia’s James Pattinson.

ICC Spirit of Cricket Awards: Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)

ICC Associate & Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: George Dockrell (Ireland): George Dockrell has become the ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year at the LG ICC Awards in Colombo. 

The voting academy chose Dockrell ahead of other top Associate and Affiliate players including his team-mates on the short-list Kevin O’Brien, Ed Joyce and Paul Stirling as well as Afghanistan’s Dawlat Zadran. It is the first time Dockrell, who recently captained Ireland at the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, has claimed the award.

ICC Twenty20 Performance of the Year: Richard Levi (South Africa) for smashing 117 against New Zealand: South Africa batsman Richard Levi has won the ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year in recognition of his 51-ball 117 not out against New Zealand.

This is the fifth year the award has been given to recognise the most impressive performance by a player in Twenty20 Internationals during the 12-month voting period and it continues to mark the advent of this exciting format of the game at international level.

On 19 February 2012, during the Proteas’ Twenty20 International match against New Zealand in Hamilton, Levi on his debut tour for South Africa smashed his way to 117 not out with a swashbuckling innings that included five fours and 13 sixes. Levi took just 45 balls to reach his century, making him the current record holder for the fastest century in T20I cricket, ahead of former holder Chris Gayle who managed the feat in 50 balls.


David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year: Kumara Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

LG People’s Choice Award: Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC ODI Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Stefanie Taylor (England)

ICC Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Picture Stories