Ahamed Nazeer sworn in as Eastern Province CM

Ahamed Nazeer sworn in as Eastern Province CM

February 6, 2015   07:12 pm

SLMC Deputy Leader and Provincial Councilor, Ahamed Nazeer Zainulabdeen, took oaths as the Chief Minister of the Eastern Province before the Governor Austin Fernando this evening. 

Zainulabdeen was elected to the Eastern Provincial Council from the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) in the 2012 election with 11,401 votes. 

He was appointed as the Provincial Minister of Agriculture, Animal Production & Development, Rural Industries Development, Fisheries & Tourism. 

He will replace Najeeb Abdul Majeed of the All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC), who was sworn in as Chief Minister on 18 September 2012 in Colombo in front of then President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Under the agreement between the UPFA and SLMC, which formed an administration following the election, a UPFA nominee would serve as Chief Minister for two and half years after a which a SLMC nominee would become Chief Minister.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

'We cheated the IMF 16 times before…we have nothing to hide' – Bandula (English)

'We cheated the IMF 16 times before…we have nothing to hide' – Bandula (English)

Kanchana hints at possible reduction in fuel prices (English)

IMF officials' briefing on bailout package approved for Sri Lanka (English)

Sri Lanka to receive first tranche of IMF bailout in a couple of days (English)

Sri Lanka no longer deemed bankrupt by the world – President (English)

President says import restrictions will be gradually lifted as forex situation improves

IMF's bailout for Sri Lanka conditional on anti-corruption, governance reforms

Minister Nimal Siripala praises President Ranil's efforts