Who will be the next UGC Chairperson?

Who will be the next UGC Chairperson?

February 12, 2015   12:08 pm

Chairperson of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Prof. Kshanika Hirimburegama will continue in her post until the President makes a new appointment for the position, State Minister of Higher Education Prof. Rajiva Wijesinha said.

He added Hirimburegama can remain in her post until the new appointment is made in terms of the Universities Act. 

Hirimburegama tendered her resignation to President Maithripala Sirisena through Minister Kabir Hashim, on 9 February, amid pressure from the Federation of University Teachers’ Associations (FUTA) who opposed her appointment and demanded her removal.

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa appointed Prof. Hirimburegama as the UGC Chairperson on 1 February, 2013.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories