President halts all police transfers

President halts all police transfers

March 22, 2015   02:45 pm

President Maithripala Sirisena has ordered to halt all police transfers with immediate effect, the Presidential Media Unit said. 

On 08 March, several high-ranking police officers including four Deputy Inspector Generals (DIGs) and 18 Senior Superintend of Police (SSP) were transferred with immediate effect.

Three days later, several top police officers including three SSPs, 21 ASPs and seven Officer in Charge of Police (OICs) were also transferred.

Police Spokesperson ASP Ruwan Gunasekara said that the transfers were made on service requirements.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories