Over 26 SLFP MPs attend Ratnapura rally

Over 26 SLFP MPs attend Ratnapura rally

March 26, 2015   05:24 pm

Over 26 Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Parliamentarians attend a public rally currently being held in Ratnapura urging Mahinda Rajapaksa to be nominated as the party’s Prime Ministerial candidate.

MPs Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Bandula Gunawardena, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Lohan Ratwatte, Gamini Lokuge, Manusha Nanayakkara and Uditha Lokubandara among attendees.

Former Ministers Dinesh Gunawardena, Wimal Weerawansa, Vasudewa Nanayakkara and Western Provincial Council member Udaya Gammanpila addressed the meeting.

In addition to this Western Province Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga, former North Central Chief Minister S.M. Ranjith and several other Provincial Councilors, local politicians and artists area attending the rally, according an Ada Derana reporter.  

The public rally is the third in a series of events being organized by several coalition partners of the UPFA including the National Freedom Front (NFF), Mahajana Eksath Peramuna, Piwithuru Hela Urumaya and Democratic Left Front (DLF) supporting the former President.

Similar rallies held in Nugegoda and Kandy managed to draw large crowds with several politicians taking the stage to address the gatherings.

On March 03, the Central Committee of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) decided to prohibit its members from participating in public rallies organized by other political parties, without approval from the party.

SLFP MPs present at Ratnapura Rally:

Ranjith Soysa, Janaka Wakkumbura, Sunny Rohana Kodithuwakku, Lohan Ratwatte, Dilum Amunugama, SM Chandrasena, SC Muthukumara, Shehan Semasinghe, Roshan Ranasinghe, YG Padmasiri, Bandula Gunawardena, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Gamini Lokuge, Kumara Welgama, Salinda Dissanayake, TB Ekanayake, Uditha Lokubandara, Chamika Buddhadasa, VK Indika, Manusha Nanayakkara, Janaka Priyantha Bandara, Vidura Wickramanayake, Kamala Ranatunga, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Dr Rohana Pushpakumara, Thenuka Vidanagamage


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Ada Derana Prime Time News Bulletin 6.55 pm

Tune in at 6.55pm for Ada Derana main news bulletin on TV Derana

TV Derana wins several top awards at 2022 Raigam Tele'es

Tunneling for irrigation project causing wells to dry up in several villages

Permission granted for anyone to sell goods on the roadside during festive season - Minister

Vegetable prices at Peliyagoda Manning Market rapidly decreasing

Sri Lanka must enter into a bi-partisan agreement - Senior economist Dr. Dunusinghe (English)