Sanath Jayasuriya resigns as Sri Lanka’s chief selector

Sanath Jayasuriya resigns as Sri Lanka’s chief selector

April 3, 2015   07:53 am

Chairman of Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee, Sanath Jayasuriya says that he has resigned from his post. 

The former Sri Lankan cricket captain-turned-politician said he tendered his resignation to the Minister of Sports and Tourism Navin Dissanayake. 

Meanwhile it has been reported that the other members of the selection panel have also decided to resign. 

Jayasuriya was appointed chairman of selectors by then sports minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage on January 28, 2013. He began his tenure on February 1, 19 months after his last appearance for Sri Lanka.

Former Test captain Hashan Tillakaratne, former fast bowlers Pramodya Wickramasinghe and Eric Upashantha were also appointed to the panel, as well as former batsmen Chaminda Mendis and Hemantha Wickramaratne.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Sri Lanka's daily Covid-19 cases count nears 900

Sri Lanka's daily Covid-19 cases count nears 900

Experts urge govt to fast-track renewable energy projects already under way (English)

No power cuts imposed until Jan. 27, PUCSL assures (English)

Export earnings in November 2021 hit record USD 1.211 billion (English)

Sri Lanka mulls introducing 'digital wallet' to all citizens (English)

More MPs test positive for Covid-19

NEWS IN BRIEF - 2022.01.25

'Little Hearts' project to construct cardiac & critical care complex for children..