Kapila Wijegunawardene named chairman of selectors

Kapila Wijegunawardene named chairman of selectors

April 8, 2015   12:02 pm


Former cricketer Kapila Wijegunawardene has been appointed as chairman of Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee, the Sports Ministry confirmed on Wednesday.

The four-member selection panel also includes Amal Silva, Brendon Kuruppu and Hemantha Wickramaratne.

The names were proposed by the Interim Committee and have been ratified by Minister of Tourism and Sports Navin Dissanayake, SLC said.

Wijegunawardene (born November 23, 1964, Colombo) is a former cricketer who played in two Tests and 26 ODIs from 1988 to 1992.

The new appointments come after former chairman of the committee, Sanath Jayasuriya, resigned from his post on 3 April. The selectors have submitted their resignations, after the recent overhaul of the SLC administration.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories