SLFP appoints new members to Central Committee: sources

SLFP appoints new members to Central Committee: sources

April 13, 2015   01:11 pm

Replacing the sacked senior members, the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) sources on Monday (13) announced its bid to appoint five new members to the party’s Central Committee.

A source close to the SLFP told Ada Derana that Western Provincial Councilors Hirunika Premachandra, Prasanna Solangaarachchi, Ediriweera Weerawardena, Minister Arjuna Ranatunga, and State Minister Nandimithra Ekanayake have been appointed to the Committee.

When contacted by Ada Derana, Solangaarachchi said, “I have already received the letter of appointment in this regard.” However, State Minister Ekanayake said that he doesn’t know about the new appointment.

Earlier, the Central Committee notified former Ministers Bandula Gunawardena, S.M. Chandrasena, T.B. Ekanayake and Salinda Dissanayake that they have been removed from the Committee. The four Parliamentarians were key players in the move to call back former President Mahinda Rajapaksa to the political arena.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Tune in at 6.55pm for Ada Derana main news bulletin on TV Derana

Tune in at 6.55pm for Ada Derana main news bulletin on TV Derana

Gas leak leads to fire inside teachers' quarters at a school in Deniyaya

Religion and politics are two separate entities - Cardinal

Five black swan births reported at Dehiwala Zoo for the first time

Sajith is alarmed of Ranil's sudden arrival, Johnston says

Police & SLAF initiate traffic monitoring using drone technology

Sialkot lynching victim Priyantha Kumara's remains brought to his residence

SJB MPs boycott parliamentary session for 3rd consecutive day