57 MPs visit Mahinda Rajapaksa
File Photo.

57 MPs visit Mahinda Rajapaksa

April 16, 2015   12:31 pm

Around fifty-seven Members of Parliament today visited former President Mahinda Rajapaksa at his Carlton House in Tangalle.

Pivithuru Hela Urumaya leader and Western Provincial Council member Udaya Gammanpila  stated that a large number of Provincial Councillors and local government members also participated in the visit.

Former Ministers Dullas Alahapperuma, Bandula Gunawardena, Kumara Welgama, Dinesh Gunawardena, Wimal Weerawansa, TB Ekanayake, Prof GL Peiris, Salinda Dissanayake, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Gamini Lokuge and Johnston Fernando are said to be among the UPFA MPs who have joined the occasion.

Gammanpila said that an extensive political discussion between the former President and his minister is currently ongoing.  

The group of politicians, inclusive of representatives from all coalition partners of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA), had planned the visit to extend their greetings to Rajapaksa in view of the Sinhala and Tamil New Year.


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories