Court grants bail for 10 UPFA MPs
Several UPFA politicians sit outside the Bribery Commission on April 23. Photo: Sanjeewa Lasantha

Court grants bail for 10 UPFA MPs

May 8, 2015   11:40 am

Colombo Chief Magistrate today granted personal bail of Rs. 1 million each for 27 including 10 UPFA MPs for contempt of court charges. The 27 are charged with participating in a protest in front of the Bribery Commission on April 23 despite a court order preventing such protests.


The Colombo Magistrate’s Court on April 24 issued notice on 27 persons including 10 UPFA Parliamentarians to appear before the court on May 8 on contempt of court charges, after they violated a court order and staged a protest opposite the bribery commission.


Colombo Chief Magistrate Gihan Pilipitiya issued notice on the individuals after considering a report presented to the court by the Cinnamon Gardens Police.


A protest was organized in front of the Bribery Commission on April 23 condemning the decision to summon former Defence Secretary for questioning despite a court order issued the previous prohibiting such a gathering at the location.


The ten UPFA MPs issued notice include Dullas Alahapperuma, Bandula Gunawardena, Janaka Priyantha Bandara, Roshan Ranasinghe, Sarath Weerasekara, Udith Lokubandara, Jayantha Ketagoda, Weerakumara Dissanayake, Gamini Lokuge and SM Chandrasena.


Western Province Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga, Western Province Councilors Udaya Gammanpila and Roger Seneviratne have also been issued notice.


Meanwhile several Buddhist monks have also been issued notice to appear before the court.


They include former Coordinating Secretary to the President on Religious Affairs Ven. Watinapaha Somananda Thero, Chairman of Public Service United Nurses’ Union Muruttettuwe Ananda Thero, chief prelate of the Sunethra Devi temple in Pepiliyana Ven. Medagoda Abayathissa Thero, Convener of the Ravana Balaya Ittekande Sadda Tissa Thero and General Secretary of Bodu Bala Sena (BBS) organisation Ven. Galaboda Atte Gnanasara Thero.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

NOTE:- Due to legal contstraints, the Ada Derana Editorial team has taken a decision to disable comments on all articles concerning ongoing court procedures.

Most Viewed Video Stories

The 'Aragalaya' is not over - Rev. Fr. Rohan Silva

New political alliance led by Wimal to be launched in Sep.

Laugfs slashes domestic LP gas prices

Research vessel docking at Hambantota Port doesn’t affect any country: China (English)

Laugfs slashes domestic LP gas prices (English)

China not allowed to use Hambantota Port for military purposes - President (English)

'If we keep arguing, then we all are going to suffer' – President (English)