Will bring no-confidence motion against Ranil - Wimal

Will bring no-confidence motion against Ranil - Wimal

May 9, 2015   10:02 am

Former Minister Wimal Weerawansa says that a motion of no confidence will be brought against Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe.

Addressing the public rally held in support of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa in Kurunegala yesterday (8), the National Freedom Front (NFF) leader charged that Sri Lanka has presently fallen victim to a western conspiracy.

Democratic Left Front (DLF) leader Vasudeva Nanayakkara, also speaking at the event, claimed that the incumbent government has cut down most of the concessions provided to the public under the former government.  

The former Minister also said that there is a threat of the deposit interest ratio being cut down.
The Kurunegala rally was the 4th in a series of similar events organized by a section of coalition parties of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) seeking to bring back Rajapaksa back into politics and name him as the party’s Prime Ministerial candidate for the upcoming election.

 Around 30 MPs of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) had reportedly attended the rally in addition to a large number of UPFA Parliamentarians.

Among the MPs present at the rally were Malini Fonseka, Dullas Alahapperuma, Wimal Weerawansa, Dinesh Gunawardena, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, TB Ekanayake, Salinda Dissanayake, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Bandula Gunawardena, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Ranjith de Soyza, Janaka Wakkumbura, Nishantha Muthuhettigama, Manusha Nanayakkara, CA Muthukumarana, Sarana Gunawardena, Sarath Kumara, YG Padmasiri, Mohan Silva, VK Indika, Chamika Buddhadasa, THenuka Vidana Pathirana, Lohan Ratwatta, Arundika Fernando, Roshan Ranasinghe, Sriyani Wijewickrama, Rohana Dissanayake, Sarath Weerasekara, Abdul Cader and Jayaratna Herath.

Western Province Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga, former North Central Province Chief Minister S.M. Ranjith and Western PC member Udaya Gammanpila were among the large number of provincial councilors and local government members who attended the event.

Former governors Alavi Moulana, Tikiri Kobbekaduwa and Tissa Balalla were also present.


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Ada Derana Prime Time News Bulletin 6.55 pm

Tune in at 6.55pm for Ada Derana main news bulletin on TV Derana

TV Derana wins several top awards at 2022 Raigam Tele'es

Tunneling for irrigation project causing wells to dry up in several villages

Permission granted for anyone to sell goods on the roadside during festive season - Minister

Vegetable prices at Peliyagoda Manning Market rapidly decreasing

Sri Lanka must enter into a bi-partisan agreement - Senior economist Dr. Dunusinghe (English)