Several Ministers to resign today

Several Ministers to resign today

May 21, 2015   10:34 am

Several ministers of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) are set to resign from their respective portfolios today.

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, State Minister of Housing and Samurdhi Dilan Perera, State Minister of Public Administration & Democratic Governance C.B. Rathnayake and State Minister of Environment Pavithra Wanniarachchi are likely to resign.

The decision will be announced at a special press conference this morning, Abeywardena told Ada Derana.

Meanwhile MP Athauda Seneviratne claims that certain groups in the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) are attempting to split the SLFP.

He says that the Sri Lanka Freedom Party should be allowed to resolve its own problems.   


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Prices of several items to be revised

Prices of several items to be revised

Iceland President vows to further strengthen friendship with Sri Lanka (English)

Overseas Private Company exempted from Tax for 17 years (English)

Litro to slash LP gas prices from midnight tomorrow (English)

Draft of Appropriation Bill for 2023 to be tabled in parliament (English)

State Engineering Corporation employees stage protest

‘Ukussa’ exposes racket forging permits for illegal sand transportation

President Ranil denies meeting Arjuna Mahendran in Singapore