New SLFP Ministers to be sworn in

New SLFP Ministers to be sworn in

May 29, 2015   11:02 am


A group of SLFP Parliamentarians are to be sworn in as Ministers today filling the vacant portfolios following the recent resignation of several SLFP Ministers.

Several MPs including former deputy ministers Chandrasiri Sooriyaarachchi and Hemal Gunasekara are scheduled to be sworn in before the President today.

When inquired by Ada Derana, Gunasekara confirmed that he has been invited for the swearing in, however said he has not been informed of the ministerial portfolio to be presented to him.

Gunasekara stated that irrespective of political opinions, he respects the leadership of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) and therefore he is bound to adhere to the requests of the party’s leadership.

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, State Minister of Housing and Samurdhi Dilan Perera, State Minister of Public Administration & Democratic Governance C.B. Rathnayake and State Minister of Environment Pavithra Wanniarachchi had resigned on May 21.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories