Over 100 MPs signed no-confidence motion against PM - Wimal

Over 100 MPs signed no-confidence motion against PM - Wimal

June 3, 2015   06:08 pm

National Freedom Front (NFF) leader Wimal Weerawansa says that the motion of no-confidence against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will be submitted today.

Speaking to reporters in Colombo, the former Minister stated that over 100 Parliamentarians have already placed their signatures in the motion.

Meanwhile it has been reported that there is a division among the parliamentarians and ministers of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) over the no-confidence motion against Wickremesinghe.

State Minister of Finance Mahinda Samarasinghe says that many SLFP MPs including ministers have decided to oppose the no-confidence motion while another group will support it.

Former Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, also addressing the media briefing, said that they intend to take Central Bank governor Arjuna Mahendran to court for allegedly singing new currency notes without any validity.   


Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

The 'Aragalaya' is not over - Rev. Fr. Rohan Silva

New political alliance led by Wimal to be launched in Sep.

Laugfs slashes domestic LP gas prices

Research vessel docking at Hambantota Port doesn’t affect any country: China (English)

Laugfs slashes domestic LP gas prices (English)

China not allowed to use Hambantota Port for military purposes - President (English)

'If we keep arguing, then we all are going to suffer' – President (English)