Committee appointed to coordinate between Mahinda-Maithri

Committee appointed to coordinate between Mahinda-Maithri

June 16, 2015   05:43 pm


A committee comprising of six members has been appointed to coordinate between President Maithripala Sirisena and former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, with regard to the future affairs of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) including its main coalition partner – SLFP.

The committee was appointed today during a meeting held to discuss the prevailing political situation in the country and the future political course of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) chaired by President Sirisena, who is also the SLFP’s leader.  

Following the speech made by President Maithripala Sirisena at the discussion, MP Kumara Welgama had brought forth a proposal for the appointing of a committee to cooperate with Mr Rajapaksa for the betterment of the party, SLFP general secretary Anura Priyadarshana Yapa told Ada Derana.

He stated that almost all members expressed approval to the Welgama’s proposal. Accordingly, Mohan Seneviratne, Dilan Perera, Kumara Welgama, T.B. Ekanayake, Susil Premajayantha and Anura Priyadarshana Yapa have been appointed to the said committee. 

Yapa said that all the party organisers, Provincial and Chief Ministers of the party were present at the meeting (16).

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories