Mahinda signs nominations to contest from Kurunegala

Mahinda signs nominations to contest from Kurunegala

July 9, 2015   11:35 am




Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa on Thursday (09) signed nominations to contest under the United People’s Freedom Alliance ticket for the Kurunegala electoral district, National Freedom Front (NFF) Leader Wimal Weerawansa said.

The observation made at a press conference held at the Sri Abayaramaya Temple in Narahenpita this morning (09).

The nomination paper will be handed over to the Election Department tomorrow (10), he added. 

Former Ministers Wimal Weerawansa, Dullas Alahapperuma, Susil Premajayantha, and Vasudeva Nanayakkara too signed nominations today.

The UPFA consists of several political parties, including the Sri Lanka Freedom Party led by President Maithripala Sirisena.

Mahinda Rajapaksa was Sri Lanka’s sixth president. He served from November 2005 to January 2015, when he lost his bid for a third term to Sirisena.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Ceypetco & LIOC hike fuel prices

Ceypetco & LIOC hike fuel prices


Expected fuel shipments further delayed; limited stocks distributed (English)

Sri Lanka tightens foreign currency possession limit (English)

Sri Lankan ambassador to U.S. calls on President Joe Biden (English)

High-ranking U.S. delegation to arrive in Sri Lanka (English)

IMF assures assistance to Sri Lanka in compliance with its policies (English)

LIVE🔴Ada Derana Late Night News Bulletin 10.00 pm