Three deputy ministers resign

Three deputy ministers resign

July 16, 2015   02:10 pm

Dr Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Lasantha Alagiyawanna and Eric Prasanna Weerawardena of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party have decided to resign from their respective Deputy Ministerial portfolios. 

Fernandopulle, who served as the Deputy Minister of Research and Higher Education, said that they decided to resign in protest of the recent special statement delivered by President Maithripala Sirisena, who is also the Chairman of the SLFP.  

She stated that by declaring in public that he would remain neutral at the General Election and hinting that the UPFA would lose the forthcoming polls, President Sirisena had gravely harmed the election campaign of the SLFP-led UPFA.

Therefore we have submitted our letters of resignation to the President, Dr Fernandopulle told Ada Derana. 

Fernandopulle and Alagiyawanna, who was the Deputy Minister of Rural Economic Affairs, were sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena on March 22 while Eric Weerawardena took oaths as the Deputy Minister of Ports and Shipping on June 10.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Fuel prices increased again

Fuel prices increased again

Protest at Galle Face Green enters day 46

Announcement from Litro on LP gas distribution

Don't know how long this govt will last - Gayantha Karunatilleka

Will enforce law against public funds misappropriation - Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe

2021 GCE Ordinary Level exam commences amidst challenges (English)

Protesters clean up the Kollupitiya Railway Station (English)

Several more ministers sworn in before President (English)