President cancels SLFP memberships of four including Rajitha, Hirunika

President cancels SLFP memberships of four including Rajitha, Hirunika

July 28, 2015   02:43 pm


The President has ordered to cancel the SLFP memberships of Rajitha Senaratne, S.B. Navinna, M.K.D.S. Gunawardene, Arjuna Ranatunga and Hirunika Premachandra, the President’s Media Unit said in a statement today (28).

The statement said that the President, who also is the Chairman of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), decided to cancel these memberships for violating the terms of the SLFP’s constitution.

M.K.D.S. Gunawardene, Rajitha Senaratne, Hirunika Premachandra, Arjuna Ranatunga signed their nomination papers for the forthcoming General Elections from the newly formed United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG) earlier. Accordingly, Hirunika will contest from the Colombo District, Senaratne from Kalutara and Ranatunga from the Gampaha District.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories