Police to enforce speed limit on 72 roads

Police to enforce speed limit on 72 roads

August 8, 2015   05:42 pm

The Police Department today announced that cases will be filed against motorists violating the speed limits on 72 main roads in the country with speed limit signs, with effect from Tuesday (August 11).

Currently legal action is not instigated with regard to speeding vehicles due to Supreme Court verdict declaring that cases cannot be filed for speeding until speed limit signs are properly placed on the road. 

However, the Police Department says that speed limit signs have been placed along the aforementioned 72 roads and that therefore cases will be filed for speeding on those roads from Aug 11.

(See Image Below for Full List of Roads)

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

LIVE🔴Ada Derana Prime Time News Bulletin 6.55 pm

LIVE🔴Ada Derana Prime Time News Bulletin 6.55 pm

Tune in at 6.55pm for Ada Derana main news bulletin on TV Derana

COPF refuses to approve Order under the Strategic Development Project Act

5.7 Mn people in Sri Lanka need humanitarian assistance - Amnesty International

Opposition Leader proposes Prof. Charitha Herath to reappointed to COPE

Fuel queues observed again in several areas...

Another phase of ‘Manudam Mehewara’ program held in Kandy

Govt will stoop low to do anything under IMF’s conditions - Vasudeva