Three Cabinet Ministers take oath

Three Cabinet Ministers take oath

August 24, 2015   12:02 pm

Three Cabinet Ministers took oath before the President a short while ago. Mangala Samaraweera took oath as the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe as Minister of Justice and D. M. Swaminathan as Minister of Rehabilitation.

The swearing-in ceremony of the other Ministers will likely be held tomorrow (25), a source said. The oath ceremony will be held before President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe at the President Secretariat Office. 

The source added that several top ministerial portfolios of the previous government have been reshuffled.

The Government has announced that it is ready to form a National Government with the opposition. On August 20, the Central Committee of the SLFP appointed two committees to formulate a MoU in its bid to form the National Government with the ruling party.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Sri Lanka has initiated an action plan to ensure a Green Economy by 2050 – President

Sri Lanka has initiated an action plan to ensure a Green Economy by 2050 – President

Darshana Handungoda speaks out over arrest after released on bail


Laugfs LP gas prices increased

Govt to reach final decision on importing eggs within two weeks - Trade Minister

Tense situation as police intervene to stop protest march by trade union leaders

Police hunt for 'Kattadiya' who raped 11-year-old girl in Opatha

Man murders his two children and takes his own life over dispute with wife