New Parliament convenes tomorrow

New Parliament convenes tomorrow

August 31, 2015   10:43 am

The first sitting of the Eighth Parliament will be held tomorrow (1) from 9.00 a.m. to 3.30 p.m. with the participation of President Maithripala Sirisena.

The newly elected Parliamentarians will take oath during the first session.

The Speaker and Deputy Speaker will also be selected from the MPs. Senior UNP leader Karu Jayasuriya has been proposed as a suitable candidate for the post of Speaker of the new Parliament, according to political sources. However, it is said that no final decision has been taken on the matter. A secret ballot will also be held, if there is more than one nominee for the post of Speaker. 

The United People’s Freedom Party (UPFA) will also propose a suitable candidate for the post of Deputy Speaker.

President Sirisena will also deliver the official address of the first sitting at 3.00 pm.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

The 'Aragalaya' is not over - Rev. Fr. Rohan Silva

New political alliance led by Wimal to be launched in Sep.

Laugfs slashes domestic LP gas prices

Research vessel docking at Hambantota Port doesn’t affect any country: China (English)

Laugfs slashes domestic LP gas prices (English)

China not allowed to use Hambantota Port for military purposes - President (English)

'If we keep arguing, then we all are going to suffer' – President (English)