New Ministers sworn in

New Ministers sworn in

September 4, 2015   12:24 pm

The swearing in ceremony of the new Cabinet of the National Government commenced at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo, a short while ago. 

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was the first to take oaths as the Minister of National Policy and Economic Affairs before President Maithripala Sirisena.

In total 42 Cabinet Ministers including Wijedasa Rajapaksa and D.M. Swaminathan, who have already been appointed as ministers, were sworn in today. 

Mangala Samaraweera took oath as the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Rajapaksa as Minister of Justice and Swaminathan as Minister of Rehabilitation on August 24 before the President.

Rajapaksa and Swaminathan received additional ministerial portfolios today. 

This brings the current number of Cabinet Minister in the naitional government to 43.

The following MPs were sworn in as ministers:

Cabinet Ministers
1. Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe – Minister of National Policy & Economic Affairs
2. John Amaratunga – Minister of Tourism Development & Christian Affairs
3. Gamini Jayawickrama Perera – Minister of Sustainable Development & Wildlife
4. Nimal Siripala de Silva – Minister of Transport
5. S.B. Dissanayake – Minister of Social Empowerment & Welfare
6. W.D.J. Seneviratne – Minister of Labour and Trade Union Relations
7. Lakshman Kiriella – Minister of University Education & Highways
8. Anura Priyadharshana Yapa – Minister of Disaster Management 
9. Susil Premajayantha - Technology, Technical Education & Employment
10. Thilak Janaka Marapana – Minister of Law and Order & Prison Reforms 
11. Dr Rajitha Senaratne – Health, Nutrition & Indigenous Medicine 
12. Ravi Karunanayake – Minister of Finance 
13. Mahinda Samarasinghe – Minister of Skills Development & Vocational Training
14. Vajira Abeywardena – Minister of Home Affairs 
15. S.B. Nawinne – Minister of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development & Cultural Affairs
16. Patali Champika Ranawaka – Minister of Megapolice & Western Development 
17. Mahinda Amaraweera – Minister of Fisheries & Water Resources
18. Naveen Dissanayake – Minister of Plantation Industries 
19. Ranjith Siyambalapitiya – Minister of Power & Renewable Energy 
20. Duminda Dissanayake – Minister of Agriculture 
21. Wijedasa Rajapaksa – Minister of Buddha Sasana 
22. P. Harrison – Minister of Rural Economic Affairs 
23. Ranjith Maddumabandara – Minister of Public Administration & Management 
24. Gayantha Karunathilake – Minister of Parliamentary Reforms & Media 
25. Sajith Premadasa – Minister of Housing & Construction 
26. Arjuna Ranatunga – Minister of Ports & Shipping
27. M. K. A. D. S. Gunawardana – Minister of Lands
28. P. Digambaram – Minister of Upcountry New Villages, Estate Infrastructure& Community Development
29. Chandrani Bandara – Minister of Women and Children’s Affairs
30. Thalatha Athukorala – Minister of Foreign Employment
31. Akila Viraj Kariyawasam – Minister of Education 
32. D.M. Swaminathan – Minister of Resettlement & Hindu Affairs
33. Chandima Weerakkody – Petroleum & Petroleum Gas
34. Dayasiri Jayasekara – Minister of Sports 
35. Sagala Ratnayake – Minister of Southern Development 
36. Harin Fernando – Telecommunication & Digital Infrastructure 
37. Mano Ganesan – Minister of National Dialog 
38. Daya Gamage – Minister of Primary Industries 
39. Rauff Hakeem – Minister of Urban Development & Water Supply
40. Rishad Bathiudeen – Minister of Industries & Commerce 
41. Kabeer Hashim – Public Enterprise Development 
42. Mohamed Hashim Abdul Haleem – Minister of Postal Service & Muslim Affairs 

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories



Expected fuel shipments further delayed; limited stocks distributed (English)

Sri Lanka tightens foreign currency possession limit (English)

Sri Lankan ambassador to U.S. calls on President Joe Biden (English)

High-ranking U.S. delegation to arrive in Sri Lanka (English)

IMF assures assistance to Sri Lanka in compliance with its policies (English)

LIVE🔴Ada Derana Late Night News Bulletin 10.00 pm

NEWS IN BRIEF - 2022.06.25