President, PM appoint their nominees to the CC

President, PM appoint their nominees to the CC

September 9, 2015   12:01 pm

The Prime Minister and the President on Wednesday (09) appointed their nominees to the Constitutional Council.

Accordingly, Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka and Wijedasa Rajapakse have been appointed to the CC respectively. JVP MP Vijitha Herath has also been nominated to the CC.

The civil society representatives of the CC will be appointed within next few days with the Parliament’s approval, a source said.  

According to the Government Information Department, the CC will comprise seven members from the Parliament and three independent members.

The Constitutional Council is tasked with establishing 9 independent commissions and monitoring it affairs.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories