Ajith Nivard Cabraal appointed CBSL Governor once again

Ajith Nivard Cabraal appointed CBSL Governor once again

September 13, 2021   08:54 pm

Former State Minister of Finance Ajith Nivard Cabraal has been appointed as the new Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL).

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa presented Cabraal with his new appointment a short while ago, President’s Media Division stated.

The new appointment will be in effect from Wednesday (September 15).

Ajith Nivard Cabraal submitted his resignation from his parliamentary seat this morning. Former MP Jayantha Ketagoda has been named to replace Cabraal.

Cabraal, a veteran Chartered Accountant, has previously served as the Governor of CBSL from 2006 to 2016.

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories