Sri Lanka bat in third Twenty20

Sri Lanka bat in third Twenty20

October 9, 2019   08:14 pm


Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka won the toss and opted to bat as the team eyes their maiden whitewash in a Twenty20 series in the third and final match against Pakistan in Lahore on Wednesday.

Sri Lanka made five changes to check their bench strength, bringing in Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka and Lahiru Kumara.

They replaced Minod Bhanuka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Avishka Fernando, Isuru Udana and Nuwan Pradeep.

Pakistan left out the misfiring Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal while fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain was rested. They are replaced by Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed and Usman Shinwari.

The visitors won the first match by 64 runs and the second by 35 runs – both in Lahore.

The final match will be a special “Pink Day” to raise awareness about breast cancer in Pakistan.

PAKISTAN: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Usman Shinwari

SRI LANKA: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.