Mayadunne resigns from parliamentary seat

Mayadunne resigns from parliamentary seat

September 3, 2015   09:38 am


JVP National List MP and former Auditor General S. Mayadunne says he will  resign from his parliamentary seat after making a special statement in Parliament today.

Sarathchandra Mayadunne and Sunil Handunetti were named as JVP National List MPs on August 20 after the party managed to win 2 bonus seats at the August 17 parliamentary polls.

Delivering his special statement in parliament, Mayadunne stated that the JVP had no influence whatsoever on his decision to resign and that the Marxist party actually still pleads for him remain as an MP.

Citing the reason for his decision to resign, the former Auditor General stated that JVP’s policies against corruption did not receive the expected approval from the public at the recent general election and that the professionals and intellectuals named in the party’s National List have also been rejected. 

Therefore, the JVP MP stated that he decided to accept the people’s mandate and resign from his MP seat. 

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories