Two more Deputy Ministers appointed

Two more Deputy Ministers appointed

September 10, 2015   02:15 pm

Two more Deputy Ministers have been sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena on Thursday. 

Anuradha Jayaratne was sworn in as the Deputy Minister of Mahaweli and Environment while Sarathie Dushmantha Mithrapala took oath as the Deputy Minister of Justice and Buddha Sasana.

Incidentally they are both the sons of former Ministers and were elected to Parliament for the first time. 

Anuradha is the son of former Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratne, currently a Senior Political Adviser to the President, while Dushmantha is the son of ex-Minister H.R. Mithrapala. 

The two Deputy Ministers were sworn in today due to them being absent during the swearing in ceremony of 19 State Ministers and 21 Deputy Ministers at the Presidential Secretariat yesterday (9). 

This brings the total number of Deputy Ministers in the National Government to 23. 

The new Cabinet consists of 46 Ministers as three Ministers were also sworn in yesterday. 

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Ada Derana Prime Time News Bulletin 6.55 pm

Tune in at 6.55pm for Ada Derana main news bulletin on TV Derana

TV Derana wins several top awards at 2022 Raigam Tele'es

Tunneling for irrigation project causing wells to dry up in several villages

Permission granted for anyone to sell goods on the roadside during festive season - Minister

Vegetable prices at Peliyagoda Manning Market rapidly decreasing

Sri Lanka must enter into a bi-partisan agreement - Senior economist Dr. Dunusinghe (English)