New State and Deputy Ministers sworn in

New State and Deputy Ministers sworn in

September 9, 2015   02:34 pm

The swearing in ceremony of State and Deputy Ministers of the National Government commenced a short while ago at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo.

The new State Ministers and Deputy Ministers were sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena. 

State Ministers: 

1. A. H. M. Fowzie – National Integration and Reconciliation
2. Dilan Perera – Highways 
3. T. B. Ekanayake – Lands 
4. Priyankara Jayaratne – Law and Order & Prison Reforms
5. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena – Finance 
6. Ravindra Samaraweera – Labour and Trade Union Relations 
7. V. Radhakrishnan – Education 
8. Palitha Range Bandara – Skills Development & Vocational Training 
9. Dilip Wedaarachchi – Fisheries & Aquatic Resources 
10. Niroshan Perera – National Policy and Economic Affairs 
11. Ruwan Wijewardene – Defence
12. M.L.A.M. Hizbullah – Rehabilitation and Resettlement 
13. Mohan Lal Grero – University Education 
14. Sujeewa Senasinghe – International Trade
15. Wasantha Senanayake – Irrigation and Water Resource Management 
16. Vijayakala Maheswaran – Child Affairs 
17. Wasantha Aluwihare – Agriculture 
18. Sudarshani Fernandopulle – City Planning and Water Supply 
19. Champika Premadasa – Industries and Commerce

 Deputy Ministers: 

1. Sumedha G. Jayasena - Sustainable Development & Wildlife
2. Susantha Punchinilame – Public Administration and Management 
3. Ameer Ali – Rural Economy
4. Lasantha Alagiyawanna – Megapolice and Western Development 
5. Indika Bandaranaike – Housing and Construction 
6. Dulip Wijesekara – Post, Postal Services and Muslim Affairs 
7. Lakshaman Wasantha Perera – Plantation Industries 
8. Nishantha Muthuhettigama – Ports and Shipping 
9. Faizal Kasim – Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine 
10. Dunesh Gankanda – Disaster Management 
11. Dr. Harsha de Silva – Foreign Affairs 
12. Ashoka Abeysinghe – Transport 
13. Arundika Fernando – Tourism Promotion and Christian Affairs
14. Ranjan Ramanayake – Social Empowerment & Welfare
15. Ajith P. Perera – Power and Renewable Energy 
16. Nimal Lansa – Home Affairs 
17. Anoma Gamage – Petroleum and Petroleum Gas
18. Eran Wickramaratne – State Enterprise Development 
19. Tharanath Basnayake – Telecommunication and Digital Infrastructure 
20. Karunarathna Paranawithana - Local Government and Provincial Councils 
21. Mohamed Haris - Sports 

Disclaimer: All the comments will be moderated by the AD editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or slanderous. Please avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment and avoid typing all capitalized comments. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by flagging them(mouse over a comment and click the flag icon on the right side). Do use these forums to voice your opinions and create healthy discourse.

Most Viewed Video Stories

Arrival of petrol shipment further delayed

Arrival of petrol shipment further delayed

Will assist Sri Lanka in line with IMF policies, delegation tells President

Special gazette issued on sale of rice or paddy for animal feed production

Nearly USD 1 Mn can be saved if Sapugaskanda Refinery continues operations, officials reveal

Number of buses at Bandarawela depot out of fleet

Ambassadors of European countries assure continuous support to Sri Lanka (English)

Sajith says 21A is a 'cowardly proposal' (English)

Jaishankar meets GL Peiris in Rwanda; discusses India's support for economic recovery (English)